A dream crushed

05Sep07

Quick note: If whoever made the anonymous comment on my last BTS entry could identify themselves, I’d appreciate it.

There’s a tiny, little video rental and coffee shop a few blocks from my house. I’d call it a “mom and pop” style store, but Rose is a single mom, so that doesn’t quite fit. Expresso Video and Cafe opened a year ago and has been a friendly fixture in our nearly-100% residential neighborhood. Kat and I would often walk there in the evening for a movie or hot chocolate. Saturday mornings often found us there for breakfast.

Last night when I returned our weekend rentals, Rose told me that she’ll be closing her doors at the end of the month. I’m really disappointed by this. I love small, locally owned businesses and try to support them as much as I can. It’s demoralizing that someone can put so much work into her dream (Rose sold her house to buy the business!) only to have it fall apart.

My hometown is a little more bland today.

2 Responses to “A dream crushed”

  1. 1 Anonymous

    Anonymous
    The previous anonymous comment came from me (Scott). I disliked hearing you sounding discouraged when there was value in what you were doing, even if it wasn’t the value you intended.


Leave a Reply

